Back to All Events

Book Club

Three wonderful historical crime writers will be chatting with us about their respective series. Big thanks to Griffin Book Shop for choosing Penarth Pier Pavilion for this event.
Mick Finlay is the author of the Arrowood series, set in the world of Sherlock Holmes but focussing on detective Arrowood who takes on the cases of London's less wealthy residents. The second book in the series, The Murder Pit, was released in January 2019.
Alis Hawkins is the author of the new Teifi Valley Coroner series set in West Wales, which begins with None So Blind and follows blind investigator Harry Probert-Lloyd as he searches for the truth when the remains of a young girl are found. In Two Minds, the second in the series, will be released in May 2019.
And local author Katherine Stansfield, who will be chairing the panel, brings us Shilly, a farmhand thrown into the world of detection set on the North Cornish coast. The first book in the series, Falling Creatures, was released in 2017 and has since been followed by The Magpie Tree.
All three series are set in the 1800s and have a strong sense of place, be that London, Cornwall or West Wales.

Thursday 28th March
Doors open at 7pm for a 7:30pm start
Penarth Pier Pavillon
£10 including a drink on arrival
and a chance to purchase the books at a discounted price.

Book online or call the Griffin Book Shop on 02920 706455.

Earlier Event: March 28
Later Event: March 28
Untouchable / Intouchables (15)